An Open Letter to Listeners

Well, you may have noticed a general lack of new updates or episodes. The sad fact of the matter is that I find myself with less and less time to devote to my beloved podcast. This is why, with a heavy heart, I must announce that the Elder Lore Podcast will be closing down.

Back when Oblivion came out, I remember scouring the iTunes Store for a podcast about Elder Scrolls lore. I had been in love with it since I took my first steps off of the prison barge in Morrowind, and thought that a podcast like this would supplement my understanding of the universe and my immersion and enjoyment of the games. Alas, I found no such podcast. Then Skyrim came out and, once again, I went looking. Once again, I was disappointed.

But that was when it hit me. I have also been interested in audio production for awhile, and there is no reason why I couldn’t make the podcast myself. The first episode took a long time to write and record, and I posted it with a heart heavy with trepidation and embarrassment. There is no denying my nerdiness if I’m recording a podcast about Elder Scrolls lore.

People responded. People enjoyed it, you enjoyed it. In the first few days of the site being live over 200 visitors had downloaded the first episode. I enjoyed streams of emails about topics for episodes, about how much people loved the podcast. We got visitors from all over the world, from a huge variety of websites. People were telling their friends!

I appreciate all the kind words people have sent in, and the criticisms. I am happy to have brought enjoyment so such a wide variety of different people, all brought together by their love of the rich history of Tamriel.

All of that being said, I do not want to say that I will never be updating. There are some changes going on in my life and I find myself with less free time, but it will not be that way forever. I plan on updating the blog whenever I have something interesting from Elder Scrolls lore to point out. I also plan on publishing some episodes about the new lore when Dawnguard (finally) comes to PC.

So stay subscribed to the blog and the podcast feed, something tells me you haven’t seen the last of the Elder Lore Podcast.

2 responses to “An Open Letter to Listeners

Leave a Reply

